My 500g piece of furniture

Issack

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 10, 2007
Big Island Hawaii
Well it's almost done.!! Jezz.. What a project this thing has been. Most of my hang ups have just been time, and research on the right equipment.

I have been wanting to do this for a few years now since i joined this site. Now finally here it is.!! It's actually 493g but 500 sounds better.. lol

I'm a furniture builder/cabinet maker of 14 years. I also do finish trim carpentry on these huge multi million dollar homes here in Hawaii.. So building this was not that hard.. just being a perfectionist is my down fall when it comes to time and what i want to accomplish..

inside tank dimensions are 93x35x35. Glass is 1/2 plate glass.

Filtration is a Eheim 2262 and a 2260. two 800gph Hydors for water movement, and a 40w danner UV

The trim on the tank is Quarter sawn white oak that i scored from one of my jobs i did. The plywood i sheeted the base with is QS oak as well and i added some African ribbon mahogany to the mix to break up the color a bit.. I was going to do a traditional shaker style panel and rail style doors but thought it was too played out and i wanted something different.. I can always add different doors later if i want..

I'm doing a carving of a tree for the center part of the stand.. you will see the pics of it in the rough below.

Tank construction is birch ply and 2x4s for the face frame to set the glass

The rest is all in the pictures.. and there is a ton so get ready.. lol

I used Laticrete 9235 membrane for the first series of water proofing..

Then i went over the laticrete with LIC marine Epoxy Enamal to make it fish safe.. I went with one coat of white and two coats of black.. so i knew i would get all the areas..

now time to set the glass..

leak test..

now comes the trim..

2x7 solid oak base..

the top bracing

I don't know if i like the hood too much.. I might change it later.. I don't know. I'm horrible like that.. I can't settle for one thing..