New marine setup idea...Help please!!!

bigcol

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 14, 2008
Newcastle Upon Tyne/ UK
Hi all, i aint been around in a while because ive been trying my hand at marine in a 29L tank. Now i have the 29L up and running with 1 clown in ive decided to convert my 240L into a marine setup :headbang2.

I have alot of questions but i will start with the main ones and if any one else would like to put more info than ive asked just feel free to do so :D

First thing is, what sort of media would be best all round to help keep happy fish and corals?

What sort of substrate should i be going for?

What is the best temp for marine?

What should all water params be to have a sucsesfull marine reef setup?

Do i need poshphate/nitrate removers?

Last but not least, Is it a must to have a protien skimmer?

As im new to salt some of these questions might make a few of you think hmmm this guy dont stand a chance :ROFL: honest im a good learner and very interested in marine reef setups now, so i just have to get it done. Once i set my mind on something then its never impossible to achieve your dreams ;)

Thanks in advance all and i hope to learn alot from you guys so i can one day share my experiences on salt water setups.

Gprime

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2008
Ottawa
bigcol;4173255; said:
First thing is, what sort of media would be best all round to help keep happy fish and corals? what do you mean by media? im asuming you mean for a HoB or canister filter, if you're going for those i would suggest a sump over mechanical filtration As mechanical filters will some times take salt out of the water, or so i've heard.

What sort of substrate should i be going for? Some sort of aragonite, most people use live sand from Carib Sea but its more exspensive, you can get other sand not sure what its called and after awhile it'll become live.

What is the best temp for marine? 76-82 degress Fahrenheit