Newbie: Please Help Me Plumb 210 Aqueon/AGA Twin Megaflow Pictures/Details Inside!

bjbass

Candiru
MFK Member
Apr 10, 2010
PA
I am brand new to this hobby and I am trying to plumb my 210 Aqueon Megaflow with twin overflows. I really need all of your advice on my plumbing. I don't know what to do.

I want to glue this and start running water this weekend, so I really need your help guys!!

Here is what I have:

This is my return line. It is 3/4" coming from my Marineland Model 4 sump.

Here is a top view. I used a union adapter so I can replace the pump if it ever goes and a valve in case I want to restrict the flow by allowing some into the tank. The pump is a Max-Jet 4500.

Here is it to my bulkhead.

Here is a view of one concept I have for my drain line. It is 1". I really need help here. I wanted to use a ball valve and I have a very very short distance between the drilled hole for the drain in the tank and where it attaches to my sump. It is like 7". Here is my attempt at PVC. I had to come down and around to get the valve on due to the small space and I need to attach the elbow straight on to the drain, so I wanted some flexibility and I used spa flex, but I had to come across enough so that I could come straight at it with the spa flex as it does not bend really well.

Another view (I have to trim the spa flex a little to get it on the drain)

Here is another concept using the bulkhead that came with my Aqueon overflow accessory kit.

I used the drain hose that came with my Marineland sump, but it is too long and I had to curl it. I would obviously put hose clamps on. Would this work? Will the curl be a problem? Could I install a valve onto this hose somehow? Would a vinyl hose be better?

Would you stick with the hard plumbing I have or go with the hose? What modifications would you make?