Darienheros calobrensis

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
This species is one of the reasons I moved to Panama, along with 2 other Panamanian endemics, Isthmoheros tuirense, and Geophagus crassilabrus..
I have been coveting them for about 20 years, and back when I left the US for Panama in 2015, Darienheros was still unavailable to me (as far as I knew).
There are only a few other cichlids on my holy grail list, and they are/were even more remote possibilities.
Iranocichla hormuzensis and Nandopsis ramsdeni, both with geo political barriers, all the Paretroplus and other Madagascans, although I was able to keep a number of Madagascans, export restrictions are becoming tighter and tighter these days, and hydrizing has become such an abhorrent part of modern day cichlid husbandry, its getting harder and harder to get legitimate species.
And then there is Heterchromis multidens, only now becoming available in the US.
So for me to experience the majority on my list before I kick the bucket, moving to Panama was the most logical choice.
Took almost 9 years to get them (The 3 almost 4 year pandemic shut down didn't help).
So finally a couple weeks ago, cast netting in a fairly fast flowing, low altitude section of the Chepo river near the Darien they finally turned up.
IMG_5557.jpeg
We pulled out 5 from the Rio Chepo, ranging in size from about 2" TL to one individual 6" TL.
5a3cd4ce-4b36-42dd-b936-8e1a63dd326d.jpeg60900726-339b-4612-9bde-b5f9e8234aa1.jpeg
First described as Cichlasoma calobrense by Meek in 1913 it has bounced around from genus to genus, ever since.
In the mid 70s and again in the 90s they were transferred to Amphilophus,
At the same size, and age, they do slightly resemble Amphilophus lyonsi (another Panamanian endemic), but
this may have more to do with convergent evolution due to similar habitat, and trophic preferences, rather than an actual close relationship).
1688915631522.png