Fluval SEA SP6 vs. Danner 3600

PinoyBuckeye

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2019
I'm getting closer to setting up my 400 gallon mbuna tank. I have some return pumps, but my Jebao 15000 has been sitting in its box, new, for over two years. I think I'm going to get new pumps. The pumps will also likely be running a couple of other small pieces of equipment.

I'm going to run two pumps and I'm looking at Mag Danner 36000 or Fluval SEA SP6. Does anyone have any insights on these pumps or even want to add anything else about any other pumps? The Fluvals seem like nice pumps at a pretty good price.

TIA400GallonStandComplete.jpg5001.jpg

HUKIT

Piranha
MFK Member
Jan 7, 2010
Illinois
I haven’t used the Fluval and I gave up on Mag Drives more than 10 years ago for two reasons; the amount of heat they produced and wattage they use. I’ve been running Jebao’s for almost 10 years. They move alot of water, virtually silent, no need for ball valves, and lower operating cost. Any reason to not use the DCP15000?

Reactions: PinoyBuckeye

PinoyBuckeye

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2019
I haven’t used the Fluval and I gave up on Mag Drives more than 10 years ago for two reasons; the amount of heat they produced and wattage they use. I’ve been running Jebao’s for almost 10 years. They move alot of water, virtually silent, no need for ball valves, and lower operating cost. Any reason to not use the DCP15000?
It's just my bias against Chinese made products. I also have a used Fluval SP6 that came with the tank but I have no idea how old it is. I was just thinking about starting fresh with new pumps and either keeping the other two in reserve if one goes down or using them on my 220.

Reactions: HUKIT

HUKIT

Piranha
MFK Member
Jan 7, 2010
Illinois
I can absolutely relate to that as I try to pick my battles when it comes to supporting US made products. But, I’m typing this on my Ipad, IPhone, or MacBook so that would be a little hypocritical.

PinoyBuckeye

Feeder Fish
MFK Member