Is there a good site for temperment pairing?

Demonfish

Gambusia
MFK Member
Oct 23, 2005
Kansas City area
I was wondering if there is a good site for fish temperment pairings (or maybe one needs to be created!). Recently I have had a bit of bad luck with my pairings. I usually go with what the various fish books and resources say about fish I have never owned before. However, recently I have had some sour experiences. I first lost two Green Terrors which were killed by the combined efforts of a Midas and Flowerhorn. I also lost a Red Tail-Tiger Shovelnose cat hybrid to a flowerhorn and another was badly beaten. I had never kept Green Terrors or the mentioned cats, but all the resources listed them as aggressive species. I figured that they were and I found out the hard way how wrong they were. I've been fishkeeping for years and years and have had success with many fish. Rarely do I ever have bad luck anymore, except when I experiment with fish that are new to me. On particular fish atlas I use, uses a Skull and crossbone symbol to denote an aggressive fish and a Heart to denote a peaceful community fish. I wish regarding that example that they would come up with some different ratings. An Oscar for example is given the skull and cross bones, but why? From my experience OScars are really peaceful fish (when given enough room) they simply eat whatever is smaller than them. Red Devils on the other hand are truly nasty fish. Now I have learned that Green Terrors are more like Oscars than they are a Red Devil or a Flowerhorn. Like I said, I've been keeping fish for a long time (20 years) and I still have trouble sometimes. I can only imagine what it would be like for a beginner in the hobby. YOu can argue, research research research, but oftentimes the information gained, as was my experience with the GT's and hybrid cats is incorrect. Also I wish books would start publishing you need x amount of gallons or space per y species of fish. I don't fall into the 1 inch per