Terrible tank to clean.

IFLAquatics

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 25, 2017
So, first off, this is my first time posting on here, hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the hobby but I am a fast learner and I've unfortunately had two losses of fish(Senegal bichir and albino irri) but for 6 months and over 70 fish I think I'm doing Alright! Anyway guys I have a problem and if I can post the picture I will, but i have a 55 long that I found (there's the problem) that I'm trying to get my juvenile Dovii into. It's bad. I sprayed off everything that wasn't on glass that would chip off and I'm left with this terrible gritty sweater of calcium and lime on the glass. The algae calcified..... I tried vinegar..... not much. I was thinking going with a natural acid like citric or possibly something non natural but easily neutralized. I don't want to run the risk of hurting my Dovii but I do want to upgrade him. He's 2 Inches and starting to be noticeably bigger every other day and he's only in a thirty gallon tall right now. I'm going to have him in a 150 by a foot long anyway but we have so many fish and tanks already that we could add 2 tomorrow and still have fish that can be moved around and situated to be even more comfortable. We currently have a need to move the slower growing female into the 30 and get him into the 55 because she is currently in the tank with a bass that has the ability but I don't think the balls to eat her. He is legitimately terrified of her and I've seen him go to blows with our 6 inch convict. Still, the risk is there and we would rather not take it. Here is the picture I hope and I want to know if anyone has advice on how to get it all off. 20180127_072047.jpg

Fish Tank Travis

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Feb 28, 2016
Dayton, OH