Congo tetras and African butterfly fish with smaller UJs?

Wannabe Poly Guy

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 7, 2024
Newbie here getting ready to set up my 75 (48Lx18Wx20H). Just need to get the new flooring laid in the room and then I can set up the tank. My plan is to start out with the following stock list:

1x Polypterus delhezi
1x P. Senegalus long fin
1x P. Polli
1x leopard ctenepoma
6x Congo tetras

I recently picked up what I call a 120 “flopped” (72Lx24Wx17H) that will serve as the polys adult home later on. At that point I’ll use the 75 as a grow out and slowly add the following:

1x P. Palmas palmas
1x P. Retropinnis (spelling?)
1x African butterfly fish

I have some questions that I’m hoping some more experienced people can help me out with.

1) Will my Congo tetras be able to graduate to the 120 with the rest of the fish? I plan on not feeding my polys any feeder fish if that helps

2) Will my African butterfly fish be alright with my polys or will I have to keep him in the 75?

3) I’m really trying to stick with a biotope but one species that could potentially be an exception is the clouded archer fish. I’m considering building a sort of turtle topper for the 120 and archers would make it that much more enjoyable. I’m thinking of them as an alternative if I have to put the congos back in the 75 but I’m wondering if they would work out with the other tank mates. I’m not really willing to cancel out my polys as they’re my dream fish and the focal point of my tank.

4) Any other advice, knowledge, and pictures of your set ups is greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

Reactions: tlindsey

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Newbie here getting ready to set up my 75 (48Lx18Wx20H). Just need to get the new flooring laid in the room and then I can set up the tank. My plan is to start out with the following stock list:

1x Polypterus delhezi
1x P. Senegalus long fin
1x P. Polli
1x leopard ctenepoma
6x Congo tetras