Hello from Nova Scotia

Caperguy99

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Mar 12, 2022
Nova Scotia, Canada
Hey everyone,

Long time listener, first time caller here from Canada’s east coast.

But of a strange situation, but I’ve only kept nano tanks in the past - but have been given the blessing to establish a 300 gallon tank in the basement as part of an overall renovation project.

While I’m not a beginner to fishkeeping, a project of this magnitude is way, way beyond anything I’ve done before. So I’m here hoping to find information on appropriate sump construction and plumbing, waterproofing for a large tank, and for any ideas on how to avoid any major problems before moving forward.

Cheers!

12 Volt Man

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
May 24, 2007
canada
Hi from a fellow Canuck (Ontario). First order of business is to make sure the 300g tank is well built from a builder with an excellent reputation.

300g of water on the floor is no joke. even if it is in a basement.

Don't get a marineland 300g Deep Dimension tank. They are notorious for blowing the bottom seals and flooding houses.

The google search is brutal:

that being said, they have had so many problems with them they may not even be made anymore.

Caperguy99

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Mar 12, 2022
Nova Scotia, Canada
Hi from a fellow Canuck (Ontario). First order of business is to make sure the 300g tank is well built from a builder with an excellent reputation.

300g of water on the floor is no joke. even if it is in a basement.

Don't get a marineland 300g Deep Dimension tank. They are notorious for blowing the bottom seals and flooding houses.

that being said, they have had so many problems with them they may not even be made anymore.
Wow, thanks for the heads up.

The tank won’t be going in until next year as part of an overall basement retro-fit. As such, pre-emptively avoiding water damage is a massive priority.