Pike Cichlid Breeding Programme

Kutty

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 10, 2005
Somewhere in S'pore
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, but I already have questions to ask! I have a 4'' female Crenicichla alta and a 3'' male Crenicichla alta. However, the male is way too thin, young and stressed to breed. My female is another matter altogether. She has been aggressive towards my pleco and my hands (and fingers) and also digging and re-arranging decor quite a bit. Are these pre-spawning behavior? My LFS has two more 4'' Cr. alta males, I hope they don't get sold out (I'm going there tomorrow or Sunday). My female's abdomen is becoming a light red; would she be interested in any of the males if I put them in her tank? (The male who is currently on a hunger strike is separated from my female for safety reasons)

rayman45

Team Rayman
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2005
staten island new york
Kutty said:
I don't believe you guys despise newbies like me and refuse to help them!
yup pretty much

guppy

Small Squiggly Thing
Apr 15, 2005
confused, lost, and lonely
Kutty said:
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, but I already have questions to ask! I have a 4'' female Crenicichla alta and a 3'' male Crenicichla alta. However, the male is way too thin, young and stressed to breed. My female is another matter altogether. She has been aggressive towards my pleco and my hands (and fingers) and also digging and re-arranging decor quite a bit. Are these pre-spawning behavior? My LFS has two more 4'' Cr. alta males, I hope they don't get sold out (I'm going there tomorrow or Sunday). My female's abdomen is becoming a light red; would she be interested in any of the males if I put them in her tank? (The male who is currently on a hunger strike is separated from my female for safety reasons)