Vintage Red Wings

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada
So as not to derail a thread where I mentioned this, close to 2 yrs ago I purchased some vintage Red Wing boots, model 4473 from a local online for sale board.
This is the same boot. Red Wing 4473 Firefighter Boots (Multiple Sizes & Optional Zipper) | eBay
Fireman in this area are issued a new pair every year (if they want them) and an old retired fireman had several pairs in his closet - old stock, all new in the box, with tags, labels etc.
Same as the pair in the eBay ad above. I've been wearing Red Wings for many years, so I knew the size would fit to a T, so I met up with the seller and bought all 4 pairs for $300 CAD. The oldest pair has a date stamp of 08 90. As in August 1990. lol I have just started to wear the soles down on that pair, but the leather is still as good as the day they were made. In all fairness this was the first version of Red Wings supersole, prior to the clear sole addition, over the black (supersole 2.0) which admittingly wear much better. But still, what a testimonial to the quality of these USA made boots.

And just so no feelings get hurt, I have an old pair of Danner hunting/hiking boots that date back almost 45 yrs, and while I haven't worn them much in the past 20 yrs since I quit hunting, they are still good to go anytime that I need them. I actually bought the Danner boots pre-internet days, via a catalogue. For you younger folks, that's a book, that has pictures and prices. :)

esoxlucius

Balaclava Bot Butcher
MFK Member
Dec 30, 2015
UK
By my calculations Neil, and given the insane longevity of these boots, if you live until you are about 426 you might just get through them all! Lol.

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada