Flowerhorn Newbie

ol78hunter

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Feb 22, 2008
South Dakota
Hello everyone. I just recently bought a flowerhorn I pick up tomorrow. I've been keeping fish for 12 years. My past fish have all been piranhas. I'20200118_105444.jpgScreenshot_20200115-213150_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20200115-213143_Gallery.jpgve kept red bellies, purple and red sanchezis, a gold mac, a ruby red spilo, a gold diamond rhom, and a black rhom. Most recently I was growing out some red bellies that I had for a year and a half. I was gone for Army training and the guy that was taking care of them for me accidentally killed them. Sad day. After recycling my tank and doing a lot of research I decided I wanted to try out a cichlid. I love the look and personality of flowerhorns. I attached a picture of my tank set up and pictures of my new fish. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks everyone.

Reactions: BigShawn

Ruturaj

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Seattle, WA
Fish looks pretty good and tank too. Plants won't last long though. You might have to get rid of driftwood in there. For food go for any NLS, I am using NLS ultrared. Are those shrimps in there?

Welcome and happy flowerhorn keeping. You are going to love it.

ol78hunter

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Feb 22, 2008
South Dakota
Yeah I figured plants wouldn't last long but I had them in there from before. Just java fern and moss so if he destroys them no biggie. They are goldfish I'm taking out before I put him in there.

Reactions: Ruturaj

Man-made Monsters

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Dec 26, 2016