2000 gallon indoor Build

Dead-pool

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you everyone so much for the information. I spoke with my dad who is a carpenter by trade and built a ton of concrete form work. Although concrete is 2x+ that of water he says it can hold in the current configuration but don’t go much higher.
He also mentioned adding in corrugated bending as a bracing. So i ran that and a home run. I’m trying to get a better idea and having some engineering friends take a look.

i ran the following calculation on a glass aquarium this big and got the glass would need to be 1” thick for 16’x6’ x36”

but I have no way to rationalize 1” thick glass to 2x4 on their side drilled together.

i looked at VLDESIGNS tank as my thought for this.
his seemed to holdup well structurally and was 23’ x 5’.

as far as the top bracing i’m going to have angle iron welded to span the tank. It will go on over the liner and the cross bracing will support the lids. I will flex seal paint these to make them water proof unless someone has a better suggestion.

B25502B7-F8F3-40B0-B660-DB1A74049D18.jpeg

9E5466C0-89A7-49AC-A0C8-802CC88939F3.jpeg

361EBBAD-8D8E-4BBD-AC53-AFC14C900ECE.png

Reactions: CHOMPERS

LukeOscar

Polypterus
MFK Member
Mar 23, 2013
ontario
This will weigh in excess of 8 tons; if there is a problem it will certainly not involve the bottom "lifting"....
notice on the pool ponds people use. the bottom bows out the furthest for obvious reasons. if this has a platform connected to the walls i would agree.
using a liner puts much less downward weight and probably 90% plus to the sides. depending on how much excess liner is used it can lift the sides and start to push the liner under the sides. i have a 16" intex pool in my back yard. when full i can easily lift the steel frame up.

Reactions: jjohnwm

Dead-pool

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Apr 5, 2016