180 gallon plywood tank

AR1

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 27, 2023
I want to build a 240 gallon (8 foot by 2 foot by 2 foot) tank with a front viewing panel. Now i have built a lot of large wooden structures, cages, etc, so i have some experience with wood. But here are a couple of questions.

First, how thick should the wood planks, used for the main structure, should be?
Second, is additional top bracing required?
Third, is there anyway besides pond armor or fiberglass, to make the tank waterproof?
And finally, how thick should the glass panel be, if tempered glass is being used?

wednesday13 wednesday13 Backfromthedead Backfromthedead

Last edited:

Backfromthedead

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jul 12, 2017
Fredericksburg va
Better off talking to jjohnwm jjohnwm or even Parka Parka for a tank like this. Ive built one plywood tank that lasted several months so not extensive experience but i did learn a lot.

You'll want sanded 3/4" plywood for the walls and bottom. Yes, thats the pricy stuff. Im not sure what additional exterior framing you would need for an 8x2x2 but some kind of top brace would definitely be necessary.

Theres epoxy, liquid rubber, and fiberglass. Each with different advantages. It seems to me the most successful plywood builds incorporate all 3 of these into the design.

If it was me building this tank, i would probably just make a plywood box, apply fiberglass mat over all of the seams, layer of epoxy over that, layer of liquid rubber over that and the whole exterior of the tank. Some research would be needed to make sure everything would adhere though. Then i'd probably router some openings out of a 8x2 piece of plywood for the top, coated in the same liquid rubber on all surfaces.

Reactions: wednesday13 and AR1

wednesday13

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 2, 2008
The deep south
jjohnwm jjohnwm has quite a few plywood builds under his belt…