Cuban cichlid in a 55 gallon

GTcichlid74

Candiru
MFK Member
Dec 30, 2016
NY
Hi everyone. I haven’t had cichlids in a couple years, I took down my big tank but recently got the itch to get back into it again. I’ve kept all types of cichlids so I know a bit but I’m not an expert. I’ve never had one but lately I have been thinking about getting a new 55 gallon for a single cichlid tank. The fish I want is a Cuban cichlid, I’ve had a female before and she was a pleasure to own and this time I would like to get a male. I’ve read that males can reach 10” in length but I’m hard pressed to find a video of one that big, the biggest I’ve seen someone claim on the internet is 8”. My question is what is the true average length of a full grown male cuban cichlid? and if he reaches that length, assuming I hook my 55 gallon up with more than adequate filtration and good consistent water changes, is it bad to keep him in a 55 gallon? Feel free to share your thoughts.

dan518

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Sep 20, 2014
uk
As a solo male I think a 55 should just be big enough. With cichlids most of there growing is done in the first 6 years but you will still get some growth for the remainder of its life, fish nether stop growing. How old are the ones you see on the internet? Not many fish get past 5 years old in this hobby.

Brandonclark88

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jan 7, 2017
Chris Craig (umbeeking) has a 10” male. They have the potential to get that large but I’d lean more towards the 8-9” as a typical max length. A 55 gallon should be alright for a solo Cuban.

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
I had a pair, 10" male, and <1/3 smaller female.
I would not consider a 55 gal large enough for a male (but maybe that's just me) .
A female yes, but a male seems in a relative sense, like it'd be similar to confining an adult Akita to a bathroom 24/7.
The pair ruled a 6 ft tank, so much so that all other fish had to be removed.