Gymnothorax tile Care help ( FW snowflake eel)

AmazonCreature

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 19, 2018
Chicago
I came across this guy at my LFS and I just HAD to have him. Me myself, I love exotic freshwater fish. So this is my first attempt to go brakish. I would like to gather any info or tips I can about this eel. I do have a 55gal that’s empty I’m going to be turning into a brakish water aquarium for the eel and my Colombian shark.
1) how long can the eel love in freshwater? But not long enough to hurt the fish. I’d rather make the steps in the right direction now than later.
2) any care tips? Such as temps, what to feed, tankmates, etc.

EDDC2F32-639E-4165-8A4C-82E28B79F033.png 980B552E-12BF-48B5-91F9-29433850CC97.png FA9FAC5A-1848-4722-8B75-4EF0313DD5A3.png

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA
I believe a lot have had them months and then die after purchase. This has always been a complaint with these eels. Would convert them over to brackish right away.

Would keep the tank completely covered.

Temps of 78 degrees should be fine. Feed any meaty foods.

Tankmates would be other larger brackish fish like monos and larger scats and gobies.

john_lord_b3

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Oct 31, 2017
sites.google.com
I came across this guy at my LFS and I just HAD to have him. Me myself, I love exotic freshwater fish. So this is my first attempt to go brakish. I would like to gather any info or tips I can about this eel. I do have a 55gal that’s empty I’m going to be turning into a brakish water aquarium for the eel and my Colombian shark.
1) how long can the eel love in freshwater? But not long enough to hurt the fish. I’d rather make the steps in the right direction now than later.
2) any care tips? Such as temps, what to feed, tankmates, etc.

View attachment 1303263 View attachment 1303264 View attachment 1303265