Lookinf for some info about Paroon sharks and black ear sharks

Paroon

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 17, 2005
Indiana
This is my first post here. Thought i'd say hi real fast. I've been keeping fish for about 14 years now and currently keep a 55 gal planted aquarium, a 125 gal community, a 220 gal moderately aggressive tank, and an 1100 gallion pond (12' long 6' wide 30" deep) I keep a couple normal iridescents, 2 oscars, a silver arrowana, a pink pike cichlid, and a few others in it.

I am looking to buy a paroon shark or two to eventually put in my 1100 gal. I haven't been able to find any for sale in the surrounding area. Indiana doesn't seem to have any for sale. Most stores i ask if they can get them they respond they haven't heard of them before. Also i've heard of black ear iridescents but have never seen one. I've been trying to find a picture but all my efforts have failed. The black ears, a store around here can order, but for $60.00 each i want to at least see what they look like and some basic information about them first.
Any information or pictures anyone out there has would be greatly appreciated :)
Thanks...Steve

SimonL

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Oct 23, 2005
Ontario, Canada
Hey. They are very rarely called paroon sharks, I get them in as Emperor IDs, or sometimes mekong river sharks, which are a different species. Paroons are P. saintsiwongi, mekongs are P. gigas. Paroons have the elongated fin tips.
They are absolutely voracious compared with normal IDs, capable of ingesting a fish half their own length. The SuperPet in my area sells a lot of them, which usually come to us after they devour the poor, unimformed person's tank.

lizardfishman

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Aug 15, 2005
Oregon
nice collection of fish.

welcome to MFK

Ornatapinnis

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 28, 2005
Dayton Ohio
Hi Steve,

Welcome aboard MFK. Sounds like you have some pretty cool stuff.