Trimac or Midas for wet pet?

Roger Mcfish

Candiru
MFK Member
Dec 2, 2023
I have an open 90 gallon tank, standard 4ft x 18 deep.
I just can't make up my mind on either the trimac or Midas as a single wet pet!

Reactions: AR1

AR1

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 27, 2023
I have an open 90 gallon tank, standard 4ft x 18 deep.
I just can't make up my mind on either the trimac or Midas as a single wet pet!
A 90 gallon tank will not suffice for even a single midas cichlid. They can grow up to 15 inches easily if given the right amount of time and proper maintenance. If you plan on keeping a midas then you definitely need a bigger tank. As for the trimac, I have no experience with them so I will let other members chime in.

Roger Mcfish

Candiru
MFK Member
Dec 2, 2023
A 90 gallon tank will not suffice for even a single midas cichlid. They can grow up to 15 inches easily if given the right amount of time and proper maintenance. If you plan on keeping a midas then you definitely need a bigger tank. As for the trimac, I have no experience with them so I will let other members chime in.
Thank you. Noted

Reactions: AR1

AR1

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jan 27, 2023
With proper tank husbandry either fish would be perfectly fine for life in a 90g.
I disagree
RD. RD. Jexnell Jexnell Sinister-Kisses Sinister-Kisses
Here are some members who have first hand experience with midas cichlids.

Roger Mcfish

Candiru
MFK Member
Dec 2, 2023
What about bartoni?

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
I have kept all 3 of these cichlids.
And while I agree a 90 gal is a bit wimpy for the 1st two as full full grown adults, , with the proper husbandry all could work, but........to me this would mean miminum multiple water changes per week as a routine., and perhaps an upgrade in tank size as time goes along
All things considered though, for that size tank
To me the best fit for that minimal size tank, would be bartoni.