UV Sterilizers

Something Fishy Here

Piranha
MFK Member
Aug 26, 2022
So I've been thinking about adding a uv sterilizer to my 90g freshwater setup for awhile. I ordered the jebao 36w ss unit after quite a bit of research but couldn't find much on dimensions. It has arrived and is much larger than i expected. I think it's bigger than I want to install under my stand and really bigger than I need.

What other units have any fellow keepers been using? I've been looking at the coral life 6w turbo twist as well. Plastic housing instead of ss but not finding many smaller options in ss. Still not real clear on how big the coal life unit will be either. I'm new to these units, running an fx4 filter if anyone has advice I'd be grateful. It would be great if i could just ssplice one into the return hose from the fx and mount it to the inside side wall of my stand. The flow rate from the fx may be too high though.

If anyone has used any plug and play versions or has more information on the coral life or other inline units i would appreciate it.

Reactions: DMD123

FJB

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Dec 15, 2017
Philadelphia, PA
I know you already have one, but why do you think you must use a UV light system in what sounds as an indoor tank? What type of problems are you having that water changes can't accomplish? Just curious. Good luck!

Something Fishy Here

Piranha
MFK Member
Aug 26, 2022
Just something i want to add for system health and preventative reasons. I don't have a quarantine tank, just my main display and a few months back i lost 6 or so fish to an unknown illness after adding a new pleco. I still do 50 percent weekly water changes and don't intend to decrease. My tank is near a large picture window and though the light is indirect, during certain seasons can still get a slight green tinge even in a week's time.