Retro gaming

Matth05

Aimara
MFK Member
Feb 17, 2022
New Jersey
Few years ago my father and I decided to get one of those new NES classic editions. It’s basically a very small updated version of the original NES. We take it out every once in a while to play some old Mario or Zelda games.

A Mario themed room is very cool btw. I’m 20 years old and I wouldn’t mind a Mario themed room myself 😆.

jjohnwm

Sausage Finger Spam Slayer
MFK Member
Mar 29, 2019
Manitoba, Canada
I was totally hooked on Asteroids and Asteroids Deluxe in the early 1980's...it wasn't retro then. :) I'm talking about the original stand-up feed-me-quarters commercial arcade game. I worked as a commissioned salesperson in the major appliances department of a Simpson's store in the one big mall in town. I actually had a pager that I wore while at work, so that during quiet spells I could go out into the mall and play the game; the ladies in the hardware department (next door to appliances) would beep me whenever a customer wandered in and I would scurry back in to make a sale (they were not on commission). I would take them all out for a nice lunch or dinner every couple of weeks, and everybody was happy. :)

When I moved out of that province a decade ago, one of the people I missed the most was the friend who still had a classic stand-up arcade-version Asteroids Deluxe in his rec room. :)

If there's one thing better than the original arcade game...it's the same game, but not requiring quarters, and with a cold beer close to hand. :)

esoxlucius

Balaclava Bot Butcher
MFK Member
Dec 30, 2015
UK
I've never really been into gaming, never bought a games console of any type in my life. But years ago, I'm talking the mid nineties maybe, my nephews had the old Sega mega drive and they had a game called Kid Chameleon, see pic below.