Whats the big deal about soft water cichlids in hard water. Rant

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada
Mike, it has been proven in labs, by experts in this field, that excessive dietary lipids causes fatty live disease in fish. I have been posting about this exact subject for many years, and I have read many of these scientific papers, researchers aren't making this stuff up. This is not me saying that you can't, or shouldn't feed meat to a fish, this is me saying that you used a rather poor example in beef heart.

I've been saying this for the past 20 years, and many of those who work in the field of aquatics agree - one of the most common causes of death in captive fish is related to excessive fat deposits in and around the organs. Excess fat ends up stored in various tissues, specifically the liver. Over time this can lead to the degeneration of the liver, which is more commonly referred to as "Fatty Liver Disease". Years ago I read an article which included some info from a fish parasitologist at a Canadian University. He was involved with performing autopsies on dead fish at public aquaria and the single most common cause of death he's seen since he started to do the autopsies was "fatty liver disease". Ruth Francis Floyd from the U of Florida has stated the same.

I first posted the following approx. 15-20 yrs ago on a cichlid forum where I was a mod, this quote coming from 8 yrs ago on MFK.

This is exactly the type of food that you do NOT want to be feeding a flowerhorn.