Official Off Topic Discussion Thread #1

Ogertron3000

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2017
Australia
Regarding the Algerian female boxer, I have seen no evidence or proof of high testosterone levels. The IBA, whose president is Russian, seem to be the only folks stating this. The following explains why, or at least enough of a reason to question their commentary.

In Algeria, it is illegal to be trans. Just more sad commentary on this story.
Saw she won gold last night, it will probably only add to the controversy.
Its a perfect case of people being outraged about something they know very few real facts about (i am not an expert and dont know the full truth either) and being ridiculously influenced by social media.
My brother in law was ranting about this last week, he is highly educated and a business analyst but gets all his news from facebook. He said he has proof she is biologically male with undropped testicles but couldnt show actual proof. I asked him why he was more outraged by a boxer with abnormal chromosomes but not the fact that amazon paid 0.2% tax on its earnings in australia last year but we paid 33%. on our wages. Apparently "thats a different thing".
I am not a conspiracy theorist but i do wonder if all of these culture war things, from both sides are just a manufactured distraction and a way to keep people divided.

Ogertron3000

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2017
Australia
I just watched the daily olympic highlights show, i always enjoy the olympics as i have said before.